Personification of a Theory about Friendship

My theory buys me my favorite coffee order, and it makes the whole day brighter. When there’s a bad time, my theory sits outside and talks about life, shapes it into something I can handle again, even when being eaten alive my mosquitos. My theory texts me from right across the table, because some things are better shared as secrets. I watch movies with my theory, even when we can’t be together. We share a screen and a story and for a moment we are together again. My theory sends me used books, little pieces of her soul scribed on the title page, mingling new words with old.

My theory gives me reasons to wake up in the morning and feelings to stir my numb heart and ideas to cherish.

My theory is kindness. Faith. Love.

Leave a Reply

